WHITCHURCH and Wem renew old rivalries in the Shropshire Premier Cricket League this summer.

Maisam Hasnain Jaffri captains Whitchurch and strengthened with the signings of Ben Excell from Lancashire's Bacup club while batsman Kunal Dabas has also returned to the club.

Wem will be led by Dan Cohen with Martyn Davies captaining the second strong and Shaun Mostert at the helm of the third team.


The club welcomes allrounder James Wynne and batsman Ed Carver while allrounder Muhammed Irfan also returns to the club.

Wem will be aiming for the premier league title while also developing its youngsters for senior level cricket.

Ellesmere will be competing in the first division this season while Whitchurch IIs will be in division three and division four contains Wem IIs.

Rhyan Jones once again captains Iscoyd and Fenns Bank in division five and has strengthened with the signing of all rounders Lewis Ward and Mark Mottershead.

Jones said: "‘With a few players rejoining us and some other lads who can hopefully build on a promising 2023 - we are looking to be competing at the top end come September as well as looking to go on another cup run."

Calverhall and Coton Hall complete local interest in divisions six and seven respectively.