WEM were denied by a dogged Wolverhampton in a drawn match in the second division of the Birmingham Premier League.

Sam Peate (43), Matthew Chen (41) and Chris Peel (41) starred as Wem posted 234-9 to defend with Joe Stanley (5-65) the pick of the visiting attack.

Tom Astley (3-39) and Mohit Kale (3-6) had Wolves on the ropes in reply but a defiant last wicket stand ensured the visitors closed on 130-9.

Whitchurch slipped to a 14 run defeat at the hands of Wellington in the Henshalls Shropshire Premier League.

Church were always up against it as Sam Topper (40) and Tom Masters (64) formed a 79 run first wicket stand before Wendell Wagner (21), Luke Hansford (28) and William Lewin (38) helped Wellington post 218-9 to defend.

Elliott Bowen (5-53) led the attack with support from Kashif Hussain (2-34) for Whitchurch.

Maisam Jaffri (59) and Mubeen Rashid (35) led Whitchurch in reply before Ijaz Yousaf (32) took centre stage but Dan Lloyd (2-30), Ronan Bagry (2-28) and Wagner (2-29) ensured Whitchurch fell 14 runs short on 204.

Meanwhile Ellesmere slipped to a 10 run defeat at home to Shifnal IIIs in division two.

Dan Aston (65) and Ben Aston (25) laid foundations for the visitors before Richard Firmstone (69), Robbie Bott (24) and Josh Cooper (25) steered Shifnal to 261-9.

George Duncan (4-45) and Joe Austin (2-24) were the pick of the Mere attack.

Jonathan Mitchell (99) top scored in reply with support from Fraser Duncan (31), Kieran Barry (35) and Ashley Thomas (21) but regular wickets from Vivian John (5-39) and Phil Aston (2-46) ensured Mere fell short on 251.

Wem IIs were 20 run winners at Newport IIs in division three.

Steve Blenkinsop (78) and Harry Astley (38) led Wem to 192 to defend with Ed Parton (5-48) and Lewis Davies (3-34) taking wickets.

Alex Ollerenshaw (3-28), Stuart Raine (2-37), Josh Wharton (2-28) and Astley (2-26) led the attack in reply and ensured Newport to 172 all out despite the efforts of Stuart Anderson (56) and Iain Anderson (60).

Calverhall fell to a four wicket defeat at home to Hodnet in division four.

Ben Oakley (55) and Chris Rowe (44) were joined by Ben Lea (28) and Alex Parker (21) in guiding Hall to 221-8 with Matt Cowap-Tait (3-45) the pick of the attack.

Alex Parker (2-18) led the Hall attack in reply but Matt Pooler (72) and Cowap-Tait (69no) guided Hodnet to 222-6.

Iscoyd toasted a six wicket win over Cae Glas in division four.

Tom Lea (3-19) and Duncan Wright (3-16) restricted Glas to 154 with Ruchira Bandarage (44) top scoring for the visitors.

Rhyan Jones (54) and Tim Wynne (36no) guided Iscoyd to 156-4 and glory in reply.