The new Wrexham constituency boundary is set to come up to the edge of Whitchurch in a new set of proposals.

The plans, revealed today (Wednesday, October 19) by the Boundary Commission for Wales, will see the Clwyd South constituency, held by Conservative MP Simon Baynes, being dissolved and the expansion of the Wrexham constituency, held by Sarah Atherton MP, to include Bronington and Overton.

The latest proposals also show that the Montgomeryshire constituency will be incorporating areas on the outskirts of Wrexham such as Rhosllannerchrugog, Talwrn and Ddol as well as Chirk and Ruabon.

The changes come as the number of Welsh Constituencies is set to drop from 40 to 32.


The newly published proposals came after two separate consultations and five Public Hearings since the Commission’s Initial Proposals were published.

The third and final consultation period begins today (October 19) and closes on 15 November 2022 and members of the public are being encouraged to send in their views.

Secretary to the Boundary Commission for Wales, Shereen Williams MBE OStJ said: “Thanks to the record number of responses we’ve received, we have made changes, in some cases significant changes, to those initial proposals.

“There is now one more opportunity to affect the new map of Welsh constituencies, during our final 4-week consultation period.

“I would urge everyone, regardless of your views on the proposals, to let the Commission know.”

Following the consultation period, the Commission will assess the representations received and submit its Final Recommendations to Parliament in July 2023- when passed, they will come into effect automatically at the next scheduled General Election.