The Conservative leader of Shropshire Council has lost his seat in a shock result from today's council election count.

Peter Nutting is a high-profile casualty of an election which has seen a number of seats change hands – including two Green gains in Oswestry.

Interactive graphic showing the changing make-up of the council

Nonetheless, the Conservatives have retained overall control of the council.

The make-up of the council is as follows:

  • Con: 43 (-5)
  • Lib Dem: 14 (+2)
  • Lab: 9 (+3)
  • Green: 4 (+3)
  • Ind: 4 (-3)

Here is the picture in north Shropshire as the count nears its conclusion.


Two seats have switched hands from the Conservatives to the Greens.

Mike Isherwood was elected in Oswestry West, and Duncan Kerr in Oswestry South – both seats that had previously been filled by Conservative incumbents.

Mr Isherwood paid tribute to Mr Kerr, saying: "In just a few short years he has got five of us on the town council, and now at least two Shropshire councillors.

"He has worked incredibly hard and inspired a lot of people to come forward and be the change they want to see."

Whitchurch Herald: Cllr Duncan KerrCllr Duncan Kerr

However, elsewhere in the town the Conservatives enjoyed continued success.

Joyce Barrow has retained her position after winning in the St Oswald's ward, and Steve Charmley held his Whittington seat by just 34 votes.

Steve Davenport, also a key figure on Shropshire Council's cabinet, held his seat in St Martin's, Nick Bardsley carried Ruyton and Baschurch, and Vince Hunt, previously a councillor for Oswestry West, won in a new ward in Llanymynech.

Conservatives John Price and Christ Schofield took the two Oswestry East seats, and the two seats for Gobwen, Selattyn and Weston Rhyn also stayed blue, going to Thomas Jones and Robert Macey.

Whitchurch and Wem

Conservatives Peggy Mullock and Tom Biggins won in Whitchurch North, and fellow Tory Gerald Dakin took Whitchurch South.

Paul Wynn, also a Conservative, won the sole seat in Prees.

There was a split in Wem, where the two seats were shared between the Conservative and Liberal Democrat candidates, Peter Broomhall and Geoff Soul, respectively.


Geoff Elner won the Ellesmere Urban seat for the Conservatives - it had previously been held by Anne Hartley, who was deselected before this election and decided against standing as an independent as she continues to recover from long Covid.

Brian Williams won in The Meres, beating his Liberal Democrat opponent by 23 votes.

Elsewhere in the county

Some of the biggest shocks of the night came in Shrewsbury, where council leader Peter Nutting lost his seat to Lib Dem Rob Wilson.

Whitchurch Herald: Peter NuttingPeter Nutting

In the Bowbrook ward – where the North West Relief Road continues to prove a controversial issue - 20-year-old Alex Wagner won the vote against Arlinda Ballcaj.

It all means that the Conservatives will still be the largest party as of next week, but with a new leader.