Shropshire voters gave their blessing to the newly-formed Brexit Party at the European Elections this week.

The county, which is normally a Conservative stronghold with North Shropshire and Shrewsbury and Atcham MPs both from the party, as well as Ludlow, The Wrekin and Telford, saw the party receive just a third of the Brexit Party's final numbers.

The party, formed by former UKIP leader Nigel Farage, received 36,260 votes compared to the Conservative vote of 10,753.

In further embarrassment to the Tories, they trailed behind the Green Party, who collected 12,242 votes.

With a turnout of 39 per cent in the county, there were 93,341 votes cast with the Liberal Democrats coming second with 19,505.

UKIP received just 3,924 while Labour ­— in a county where they have not performed well in the past – finished with 6,665.

The other newly-formed party, Change UK, came last with 3,339 votes.

Three Brexit MEPs were voted in, including Rupert Lowe, one-time chairman of Premier league club Southampton, martin Daubney, ex-editor of former men's magazine Loaded and Andrew Kerr.

Neena Gill and Anthea McIntyre both held their seats representing Labour and the Conservatives respectively while Ellie Chowns became the first-ever Green MEP for the region.