It was fair to say that the 2018/19 Monday Whitchurch darts league belonged to the Archibald Worthington Club A as they dominated most of the honours contested this season.

Following last season’s setback when they had to settle for second place, they responded in style this time around going the whole season unbeaten as they finished four points clear of second-placed Crown (Malpas).

They also claimed the team knockout for the third season running, defeating the Crown 4-1 in the final.

However, it was not just about the “Archie” as the Whitchurch league bucked the national trend as the number of participating teams increased to eight, which included an all-ladies team from the Red Cow who certainly left their mark.

It provided the opportunity for ladies end-of-season knockout, which was won by Hayley Griffiths from Bulls Head.

In total 61 players participated in the league this season that saw 30 maximums plundered with Danny Humphries (Eagles A) firing the most with eight.

The Crown’s Rowan Price pitched the least darts with a 14-dart 501 leg while there was a total of 15 100-plus checkouts over the season with Andy Evans (Archie A) firing the highest finish of 130 in the final league game of the season.

A well-attended finals night at the Bulls Head saw a family affair in the singles final with Charlie Evans, making his seventh appearance in the final, taking on his son Andrew Evans who won 4-2.

Both players teamed up in the pairs knockout where again they reached the final but were beaten by “Archie A” team mates Phil Wragg and Gary Crowther 3-2. Phil also reached the final of the mixed pairs with Vicky Collins where they prevailed again in the deciding leg against Heather Radcliffe & Che Kerin (Bulls Head B).

Fittingly Phil Wragg scooped the award for player of the season while Masie Haley claimed the most player of the matches throughout the season.

Significantly, the Whitchurch county cup side was fielded entirely of league players who represented the Monday league and with further teams from the town expressing an interest in joining local darts in Whitchurch goes from strength to strength.

Team off the Season : Phil Wragg (Archie A); David Ridgeway (Archie B); David Brayford (bulls Head A); Nigel Neale !! (Bulls Head B); Rowan Price (Crown); Ben Evans (Eagles A); Rob Ralphs (Eagles B); Masie Haley (Red Cow)