A 28-RUN victory at Heath Road saw Whitchurch retain their Birmingham League status as they managed to hold their nerve to beat the already relegated Kings Heath. 

Batting first in a must-win game, Whitchurch managed 195-8 from their rain-reduced 30 overs, Ed Watson-Jones’ 57 from just 51 balls at the top of the innings setting up a good total for the hosts.

A futher 43 from Mas Hasnain, 33 from Ijaz Yousaf and 24 for Simon Dimelow provided good support. Abubakar Pervaiz took 5-28 to limit the home side at the back end of the innings. 

In reply Kings Heath looked well set to spoil the home side’s day when 93-2 (Gavin Shephard 44, Stuart Shephard 42) before Simon Dimelow (3-31) dismissed both.

From then on Whitchurch were in control and two wickets each for Yousaf and Hasnain contributed to the visitors ending a miserable season with a loss as they were bowled out for 167 prompting celebrations from the Heath Road men.

Whitchurch will now look to kick on next season following some encouraging displays throughout the year. 

Whitchurch Seconds ended their season with a disappointing loss to champions Oswestry as they went down by nine wickets. 

Batting first Whitchurch managed 140-9 from their 33 overs with David Brunyard top scoring with 24 as the visitors struggled to cope with the home sides bowling attack, particularly captain Josh Coleridge whose off spin claimed 4-23. 

Nick Williams then marked his return to the team with a typically elegant 71no which along with Callum Morris’s 41no saw Oswestry to a convincing nine-wicket victory to clinch the title.