Wem Town Council has named its 49th and 50th Honourary Townsmen at a special ceremony.

The civic reception was held at Wem Senior Club on Friday, November 24 to present Rod Owens and Roger Ashton with their Charter and Badges in recognition of their being created Honorary Townsmen of Wem.

This award was first made in 1983 and is given in recognition of services to the town and its people.

It is the second time in four years that two people have won the award jointly, and they received their awards from town Mayor Councillor Edward Towers and fellow council members Cllr Peter Broomhall.